Tell me why I’m fed this shit

That plastic and buttons and microchips

Can replace a face in the slightest bit

And I’m not stuck at home, getting to grips

With why all my friends are names and pics

And little bits of text, humorous licks

And I scroll and scroll and that’s kind of it

How fun I seem is being willing to sit

Upload and comment, like, subscribe

Show off my wit with the odd diatribe

Keep up to date, and know the facts

Stay up too late, then hear me wax

Lyrical on this subject I know nothing about

All cos I have a keyboard and a motor mouth

 

This hole is for speaking so why am I thrown

Into using these digits like mindless drones

My life’s now a series of zeros and ones

Text-speak slang and speaking in tongues

Has to be proof or GTFO

It’s Broadway, darling, it’s all in the show.

I’m told don’t remember, no, record-

For posterity, friends, or whenever you’re bored

To relive in flashbacks, snapshots, stored

For whenever you want, that’s your reward

For having your phone out like antenna

Being obsessed with your own agenda

It’s poisonous, toxic, oleander

But good for the goose, good for the gander.

 

Well I can’t grasp this. Can’t have that,

Walls covered in phony, posturing crap

I want frames and photos, memories man

Disagree? Do your worst, unfriend me. Damn.

